Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

Sit Means Sit franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

Pet ServicesFDD entity year 2009

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit Sit Means Sit's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Thin filing data. Sit Means Sit's filings disclose only some of the figures we track. Every gap below is marked "Not disclosed" — we publish the gap instead of estimating it.

Opening a Sit Means Sit franchise takes $66,675 – $163,750 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $60,530 – $61,470. To qualify, Sit Means Sit asks for $20,000 in liquid cash and a $50,000 net worth. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

Sit Means Sit franchise costs and fees

The Sit Means Sit all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$60,530 to $61,470
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$66,675 to $163,750
Source-cited figureNet worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$50,000
Source-cited figureLiquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$20,000
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$66,675 to $163,750
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesUp to 1%
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement10 years
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full Sit Means Sit cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How Sit Means Sit's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Sit Means Sit's disclosed cost sits against the Pet Services category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $66,675 — about 78% below the Pet Services median of $302,583.
  • Initial franchise fee of $60,530 — about in line with the Pet Services median of $59,500.

Category medians are computed from the Pet Services brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Pet Services franchises

Get free info about Sit Means Sit

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about Sit Means Sit + 3 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How Sit Means Sit's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2022: began the window at 66 units; 124 units opened, 37 closed, ending at 157 units. (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)

124 units opened and 37 closed between 2012 and 2022.2012: 16 opened2012: 8 closed2013: 18 opened2013: 6 closed2014: 14 opened2014: 6 closed2015: 23 opened2015: 1 closed2016: 4 opened2016: 6 closed2017: 7 opened2017: 1 closed2019: 5 opened2019: 1 closed2020: 10 opened2020: 3 closed2021: 14 opened2021: 5 closed2022: 13 opened
95.2%
of units at risk 2020–2022 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. Sit Means Sit began the window at 66 units. Note — partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only. 124 units opened and 37 closed between 2012 and 2022.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Sit Means Sit or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Sit Means Sit for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether Sit Means Sit is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Sit Means Sit grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Sit Means Sit can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the Sit Means Sit franchise

Sit Means Sit is a pet services franchisor with 157 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2022, it began the window at 66 units; its filings record 124 unit openings and 37 closures, ending at 157 units (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only).

No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.

From the franchisor's materials

The franchise offered is for the operation of a dog training business using the “Sit Means Sit” system and standards.

Excerpted from Sit Means Sit's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

Sit Means Sit franchise: quick answers

How much does a Sit Means Sit franchise cost?
$66,675 – $163,750 all-in to open, per Sit Means Sit's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many Sit Means Sit units are there?
157 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have Sit Means Sit's units held up?
95.2% of units at risk between 2020 and 2022 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).