Suburban Extended Stay Hotel (Choice Hotels) franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a Suburban Extended Stay Hotel (Choice Hotels) franchise takes $8,183,050 – $12,989,550 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $50,550 – $105,550. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 6% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 2.5%. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel (Choice Hotels) franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $50,550 | $105,550 | $50,550 to $105,550 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $8,183,050 | $12,989,550 | $8,183,050 to $12,989,550 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $8,183,050 | $12,989,550 | $8,183,050 to $12,989,550 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means Suburban Extended Stay Hotel (Choice Hotels)'s filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 6% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Up to 2.5% |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | 20 years |
How Suburban Extended Stay Hotel (Choice Hotels)'s cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Suburban Extended Stay Hotel (Choice Hotels)'s disclosed cost sits against the Lodging & Leisure category:
- Minimum startup cost of $8,183,050 — about 1.3× the Lodging & Leisure median of $6,130,275.
- Initial franchise fee of $50,550 — about 21% below the Lodging & Leisure median of $63,600.
Category medians are computed from the Lodging & Leisure brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Lodging & Leisure franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How Suburban Extended Stay Hotel (Choice Hotels)'s units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2022: began the window at 60 units; 51 units opened, 28 closed, ending at 75 units. (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Suburban Extended Stay Hotel (Choice Hotels) or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Suburban Extended Stay Hotel (Choice Hotels) for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether Suburban Extended Stay Hotel (Choice Hotels) is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Suburban Extended Stay Hotel (Choice Hotels) grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Suburban Extended Stay Hotel (Choice Hotels) can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the Suburban Extended Stay Hotel (Choice Hotels) franchise
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel (Choice Hotels) is a lodging & leisure franchisor with 75 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2022, it began the window at 60 units; its filings record 51 unit openings and 28 closures, ending at 75 units (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only).
No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.
From the franchisor's materials
The franchised business being offered is SUBURBAN STUDIOS® business, for the right to construct or operate a hotel under our name and primary business trademark.
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel (Choice Hotels) franchise: quick answers
- How much does a Suburban Extended Stay Hotel (Choice Hotels) franchise cost?
- $8,183,050 – $12,989,550 all-in to open, per Suburban Extended Stay Hotel (Choice Hotels)'s franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many Suburban Extended Stay Hotel (Choice Hotels) units are there?
- 75 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
- How have Suburban Extended Stay Hotel (Choice Hotels)'s units held up?
- 91.1% of units at risk between 2020 and 2022 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).
- Is Suburban Extended Stay Hotel (Choice Hotels) SBA-eligible?
- Suburban Extended Stay Hotel (Choice Hotels) is flagged SBA-eligible in our dataset (as of 2026-05). Confirm current status on the SBA Franchise Directory before relying on it for financing.