Preschool franchise costs and what the work is really like
Across 5 preschool franchise brands we track, 4 disclose a minimum investment. The median minimum cash-to-open is $186,525, with disclosed totals running $51,375 – $5,608,799; initial franchise fees run $30,000 – $121,200. Every figure is FDD-derived — where a brand won't say, we print "not disclosed" instead of guessing.
Compare preschool franchise costs, brand by brand
What the work is really like
Child care runs the opposite schedule of most trades on this site: fixed weekday hours, roughly 6:30 a.m. to 6 p.m., no evenings, no weekends — and no flexibility, because parents' commutes depend on the doors opening on time. The catch is coverage: state staff-to-child ratios mean a teacher's sick day can legally close a classroom, and the owner is often the emergency floater on the floor with the kids.
It is also the most regulated trade here: state licensing sets ratios, facility standards, and background-check rules before a franchisor's brand standards even start. Licensing timelines — often 6 to 12 months including buildout inspection — belong in your opening plan.
The center-based model is a real-estate and payroll business: directors and lead teachers are licensed roles you must keep filled, enrollment ramps over semesters rather than weeks, and the trade's seasonality is the school calendar itself. Under-capitalizing the ramp is the failure mode named most in this trade.
Preschool franchise costs, brand by brand
| Brand | Cash to open | Franchise fee |
|---|---|---|
| KidsPark | $299,250 – $526,500 | $30,000 |
| Celebree Schools | $818,000 – $2,594,000 | $121,200 |
| The Learning Experience | Up to $5,608,799 | n/d |
| Young Rembrandts | $51,375 – $59,325 | $44,500 |
| Reading Readiness Center | $73,800 – $142,500 | $35,000 |
Each brand page has the footed cost ledger: fee, Item-7 range, royalty, and unit history — with "not disclosed" printed where a figure is missing.
Compare brands in this trade: KidsPark vs Celebree Schools — the two fullest data records here; swap in any brand from the table above on the compare page.
Red flags to check before any preschool discovery call
- Item 7's low number is not your number. Sales teams quote the bottom of the range; outfit your budget to the high end plus working capital.
- No Item 19 earnings claim? Ask why. If earnings promises appear in conversation but not in the FDD, that gap is the answer.
- Item 20 exits. Compare closures and terminations to openings over the last three years — our brand pages compute this for you.
- "Semi-absentee" pitches. Preschool operations still need a manager; if it's not you, that salary belongs in your math.
- Litigation history (Item 3) and franchisee-association disputes — search both before the discovery day, not after.
- Validate past the reference list. Call operators the franchisor did NOT hand you, including former franchisees.
Preschool franchise: quick answers
- How much does a preschool franchise cost?
- The median minimum investment across the 4 preschool franchise brands with disclosed figures is $186,525; disclosed totals run $51,375 – $5,608,799. Costs vary widely by format and real estate — anchor on a specific brand's FDD Item 7, not the trade average.
- What franchise fee do preschool franchises charge?
- Disclosed initial franchise fees among the preschool brands we track run $30,000 – $121,200 (median $39,750). The fee is one line of the total investment — build-out, equipment, and working capital usually dwarf it.
- How many preschool franchise brands are there?
- Our dataset matches 5 franchise brands to the preschool trade, 4 of which disclose investment figures. Matching is by industry plus trade keywords in the brand's name or FDD-derived description, so adjacent concepts can appear — we'd rather show the match rule than hide it.
More education research
Keep researching
Still researching?
Every preschool brand above links to its full cost ledger — fee, royalty, and how its units have held up.