Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

What is a franchise?

Last reviewed July 6, 2026

A franchise is a legal and commercial relationship: a franchisor licenses its trademark and operating system to an independent owner — the franchisee — who pays an initial fee and ongoing royalties. Under the FTC Franchise Rule, three elements make a business a franchise: a shared trademark, significant control or assistance from the franchisor, and a required payment. When all three exist, the arrangement is legally a franchise, whatever the contract calls itself.

What are the main types of franchises?

  • Business-format franchise — the dominant model and what this site tracks: you get the brand, the operating manual, training, and supply chain. Fast food, home services, senior care, and fitness concepts all work this way.
  • Product-distribution franchise — you sell the franchisor's product under its name (vehicle dealers, fuel stations, soft-drink bottlers). The relationship is closer to licensed wholesale than to a full operating system.
  • Manufacturing franchise — the franchisor licenses you to produce its product to spec, common in food and beverage production.

Within business-format franchising, structure varies by scale: a single-unit owner runs one location, a multi-unit operator commits to several, an area developer signs a development schedule for a region, and a master franchisee can sub-license to others.

How big is franchising in the US?

Big enough that "franchise" spans everything from a $5,000 home-based service to a $5 million hotel. The International Franchise Association's economic outlook has estimated more than 800,000 franchise establishments nationwide (IFA, 2025 outlook). Our own dataset profiles 5,700+ US franchise brands across 12 industries; the largest single category is food & beverage, with 1,822 brands (as of 2026-05).

What does a franchise cost?

Two numbers matter, and buyers routinely confuse them. The franchise fee is the upfront license payment: across the 3,900+ brands we track with a disclosed fee, the median is $39,475 (as of 2026-05). The real number is the total initial investment — Item 7 of the FDD — which adds build-out, equipment, inventory, and working capital. Median disclosed minimum across 4,700+ brands: $179,200.

The spread is enormous, which is why averages mislead. You can browse franchises by investment band or start with the under-$50K list if your budget is the constraint.

What a franchise is not

  • Not passive income. Even "semi-absentee" formats need a paid manager, and that salary belongs in your math. See absentee ownership.
  • Not a guarantee. Units close in every system. Across the 2,390 brands with three usable years of unit history, the median 3-year unit survival we compute is 90.3% (as of 2026-05) — a useful base rate, and a reason to read Item 20 before any discovery call.
  • Not employment. You own the entity, sign the lease, carry the debt, and absorb the losses. The franchisor's royalty gets paid on sales whether or not you profit.
  • Not always what it looks like. Starbucks locations inside grocery stores are licensed, not franchised; several famous chains don't franchise at all. The label on the door doesn't tell you the legal structure behind it.

Where did franchising come from?

The modern form is younger than it looks. Singer sold sewing-machine distribution rights in the 1850s; soft-drink bottlers scaled the product model in the early 1900s; and the business-format model exploded after 1955, when Ray Kroc opened his first McDonald's franchise. Abuse followed growth, and in 1979 the FTC adopted the original Franchise Rule requiring pre-sale disclosure — the ancestor of today's 23-item FDD.

How do you evaluate a franchise?

Start with mechanics, then money, then evidence. How a franchise works covers the mechanics — who owns what and who pays whom. The franchise agreement guide covers the contract you'll actually sign. How much franchise owners make covers the earnings evidence and its limits. When you're ready to compare brands, every profile on this site shows the filed numbers — fees, cash to open, royalties, and unit history — with "not disclosed" printed where a brand won't say.

Quick answers

What does franchise mean in simple terms?
It means renting a business system. You pay a company (the franchisor) for the right to run a business under its name and playbook. You own your location and keep the profits; the franchisor owns the brand and collects a royalty on your sales.
What is an example of a franchise?
McDonald's is the classic example: most of its restaurants are owned by independent franchisees who pay royalties to the corporation. But franchising is wider than fast food — our dataset spans 12 industries, from home services and senior care to auto repair and education (as of 2026-05).
Is a franchise owner a business owner?
Yes. A franchisee forms their own legal entity, signs the lease, hires the staff, and carries the risk. What they don't own is the brand or the system — those are licensed for the term of the franchise agreement, typically about 10 years.
What's the difference between a franchise and a chain?
Ownership. A chain's locations are owned by the parent company; a franchise's locations are owned by independent operators. Many brands mix both — and some chains that look like franchises (Chipotle, In-N-Out) don't franchise at all.
Is buying a franchise a good investment?
Sometimes — and no honest source can tell you more without brand-level evidence. The useful questions are specific: what does Item 7 say it costs, what does Item 19 show (if anything), and how many units closed in Item 20? Those answers vary more between brands in the same industry than between industries.

Keep researching

Ready to look at real numbers?

Every brand profile shows the filed costs — franchise fee, cash to open, royalty, and unit history — dated per figure, with "not disclosed" where a brand won't say.

See real franchise costs

Guides are free to read, with no sign-up. How this site makes money