Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

Anytime Fitness franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

Health & FitnessFDD entity year 2009

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit Anytime Fitness's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Thin filing data. Anytime Fitness's filings disclose only some of the figures we track. Every gap below is marked "Not disclosed" — we publish the gap instead of estimating it.

Opening an Anytime Fitness franchise takes $397,516 – $973,121 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $85,551 – $107,660. To qualify, Anytime Fitness asks for $100,000 in liquid cash and a $300,000 net worth. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

Anytime Fitness franchise costs and fees

The Anytime Fitness all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$85,551 to $107,660
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$397,516 to $973,121
Source-cited figureNet worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$300,000
Source-cited figureLiquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$100,000
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$397,516 to $973,121
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement6 years
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full Anytime Fitness cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How Anytime Fitness's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Anytime Fitness's disclosed cost sits against the Health & Fitness category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $397,516 — about 2.2× the Health & Fitness median of $184,861.
  • Initial franchise fee of $85,551 — about 1.7× the Health & Fitness median of $49,000.

Category medians are computed from the Health & Fitness brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Health & Fitness franchises

Get free info about Anytime Fitness

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about Anytime Fitness + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How Anytime Fitness's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2021: began the window at 1,538 units; 1,273 units opened, 420 closed, ending at 2,334 units. (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)

1,273 units opened and 420 closed between 2012 and 2021.2012: 174 opened2012: 21 closed2013: 166 opened2013: 33 closed2014: 188 opened2014: 27 closed2015: 162 opened2015: 19 closed2016: 168 opened2016: 25 closed2017: 159 opened2017: 28 closed2019: 125 opened2019: 77 closed2020: 71 opened2020: 131 closed2021: 60 opened2021: 59 closed
90%
of units at risk 2019–2021 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. Anytime Fitness began the window at 1,538 units. Note — partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only. 1,273 units opened and 420 closed between 2012 and 2021.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Anytime Fitness or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Anytime Fitness for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether Anytime Fitness is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Anytime Fitness grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Anytime Fitness can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the Anytime Fitness franchise

Anytime Fitness is a health & fitness franchisor with 2,334 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2021, it began the window at 1,538 units; its filings record 1,273 unit openings and 420 closures, ending at 2,334 units (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is Self Esteem Brands.

Disclosure filings report 3 franchise-related lawsuits. Review Item 3 of the FDD. (as of 2026-05)

From the franchisor's materials

The franchise we offer is a fitness center offering convenient access and one on one, small and large group training. We also offer the opportunity to open a more limited Anytime Fitness Express center.

Excerpted from Anytime Fitness's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

Anytime Fitness franchise: quick answers

How much does an Anytime Fitness franchise cost?
$397,516 – $973,121 all-in to open, per Anytime Fitness's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many Anytime Fitness units are there?
2,334 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have Anytime Fitness's units held up?
90% of units at risk between 2019 and 2021 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).