CBD American Shaman franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a CBD American Shaman franchise takes $88,100 – $184,400 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $35,000 – $40,000. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated. The ledger below itemizes every figure we can source for CBD American Shaman, each one dated, so you can check the numbers before anyone gets your contact details.
CBD American Shaman franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $35,000 | $40,000 | $35,000 to $40,000 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $88,100 | $184,400 | $88,100 to $184,400 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $88,100 | $184,400 | $88,100 to $184,400 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means CBD American Shaman's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | 5 years |
See the full CBD American Shaman cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How CBD American Shaman's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where CBD American Shaman's disclosed cost sits against the Retail category:
- Minimum startup cost of $88,100 — about 47% below the Retail median of $165,000.
- Initial franchise fee of $35,000 — about in line with the Retail median of $36,750.
Category medians are computed from the Retail brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Retail franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How CBD American Shaman's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2019–2021: began the window at 127 units; 378 units opened, 232 closed, ending at 242 units.
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for CBD American Shaman or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask CBD American Shaman for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether CBD American Shaman is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether CBD American Shaman grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only CBD American Shaman can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the CBD American Shaman franchise
CBD American Shaman is a retail franchisor with 242 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2019 and 2021, it began the window at 127 units; its filings record 378 unit openings and 232 closures, ending at 242 units. Its parent company is American Shaman Franchise Systems, Inc..
No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.
From the franchisor's materials
The franchise offered by AMERICAN SHAMAN FRANCHISE SYSTEMS, INC. is for the establishment and operation of a business that will conduct a retail establishment that offers certain "Industrial Hemp Derived" based products to the public under the name "CBD AMERICAN SHAMAN".
CBD American Shaman franchise: quick answers
- How much does a CBD American Shaman franchise cost?
- $88,100 – $184,400 all-in to open, per CBD American Shaman's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many CBD American Shaman units are there?
- 242 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
- How have CBD American Shaman's units held up?
- 54.1% of units at risk between 2019 and 2021 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).