Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

Snap Fitness franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

Health & FitnessFDD entity year 2003

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit Snap Fitness's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Thin filing data. Snap Fitness's filings disclose only some of the figures we track. Every gap below is marked "Not disclosed" — we publish the gap instead of estimating it.

Opening a Snap Fitness franchise takes $430,800 – $1,118,100 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $51,067 – $52,500. To qualify, Snap Fitness asks for $75,000 in liquid cash and a $250,000 net worth. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

Snap Fitness franchise costs and fees

The Snap Fitness all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$51,067 to $52,500
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$430,800 to $1,118,100
Source-cited figureNet worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$250,000
Source-cited figureLiquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$75,000
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$430,800 to $1,118,100
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement10 years
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full Snap Fitness cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How Snap Fitness's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Snap Fitness's disclosed cost sits against the Health & Fitness category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $430,800 — about 2.3× the Health & Fitness median of $184,861.
  • Initial franchise fee of $51,067 — about in line with the Health & Fitness median of $49,000.

Category medians are computed from the Health & Fitness brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Health & Fitness franchises

Get free info about Snap Fitness

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about Snap Fitness + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How Snap Fitness's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2022: began the window at 1,030 units; 263 units opened, 571 closed, ending at 547 units. (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)

263 units opened and 571 closed between 2012 and 2022.2012: 38 opened2012: 41 closed2013: 32 opened2013: 40 closed2014: 34 opened2014: 37 closed2015: 42 opened2015: 47 closed2016: 64 opened2016: 59 closed2017: 35 opened2017: 63 closed2019: 7 opened2019: 73 closed2020: 4 opened2020: 149 closed2021: 3 opened2021: 33 closed2022: 4 opened2022: 29 closed
73.7%
of units at risk 2020–2022 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. Snap Fitness began the window at 1,030 units. Note — partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only. 263 units opened and 571 closed between 2012 and 2022.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Snap Fitness or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Snap Fitness for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether Snap Fitness is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Snap Fitness grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Snap Fitness can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the Snap Fitness franchise

Snap Fitness is a health & fitness franchisor with 547 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2022, it began the window at 1,030 units; its filings record 263 unit openings and 571 closures, ending at 547 units (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is Lift Brands Inc.. The filings indicate financing options are available; terms come from the franchisor, not from us.

Disclosure filings report 4 franchise-related lawsuits. Review Item 3 of the FDD. (as of 2026-05)

From the franchisor's materials

The franchise offered is a SNAP FITNESS Club ("Club"), which offersgroup fitness and personal training, using advanced industry technologiesandhighquality fitness equipment and providing 24-7 access to members.

Excerpted from Snap Fitness's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

Snap Fitness franchise: quick answers

How much does a Snap Fitness franchise cost?
$430,800 – $1,118,100 all-in to open, per Snap Fitness's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many Snap Fitness units are there?
547 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have Snap Fitness's units held up?
73.7% of units at risk between 2020 and 2022 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).