Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

Spa franchise costs and what the work is really like

Across 85 spa franchise brands we track, 79 disclose a minimum investment. The median minimum cash-to-open is $288,650, with disclosed totals running $8,000 – $2,592,081; initial franchise fees run $5,000 – $215,000. Every figure is FDD-derived — where a brand won't say, we print "not disclosed" instead of guessing.

Compare spa franchise costs, brand by brand

What the work is really like

A spa's calendar peaks when clients are off work: late afternoons, evenings, and Saturdays carry the week, and the gift-card holidays — December, Valentine's, Mother's Day — are the trade's real seasonality. Someone has to close on Saturday night, and early on that someone is usually the owner.

The model runs on memberships and rebooking, not walk-ins: you sell recurring plans from month one. Staffing licensed estheticians and technicians is the operating constraint — in most states every service provider needs a license, turnover in the trade is high, and an empty treatment room is inventory you can't resell. Owners rarely perform services themselves (that takes a license too); the day job is front-desk standards, membership sales, and keeping the provider roster full.

Med spa concepts add medical-director requirements and state-by-state scope-of-practice rules that change what services you may legally offer. Check those rules for YOUR state before comparing brands — they move the whole cost and staffing picture.

Already have the trade skill? Should it be a franchise at all? The independent-vs-franchise call

Spa franchise costs, brand by brand

BrandCash to openFranchise fee
Deka Lash$285,900 – $460,850$82,600
Tan Republic$97,250 – $439,000$5,000 – $47,500
The Barbershop A Hair Salon For Men$207,000 – $352,600$79,400 – $93,100
Scissors & Scotch$502,300 – $1,085,034$105,000 – $206,000
Shapes Brow Bar$63,150$10,500 – $32,500
Glace Cryotherapy$124,700 – $202,500$30,000
Urban Float$467,000 – $914,600$56,000 – $65,000
Massage Envy$605,850 – $1,014,700$45,000
Palm Beach Tan$624,429 – $1,008,763$36,450 – $40,464
Amazing Lash Studio$436,334 – $707,674$116,974 – $126,474
SEVA$80,050 – $237,700$27,000 – $30,200
Planet Beach$196,900 – $392,550$47,075 – $80,900
Waxing the City$310,774 – $646,420$98,544 – $149,105
MassageLuXe$570,900 – $799,000$51,500
The Woodhouse Day Spa$1,486,677 – $2,592,081$61,425
Massage Green Spa$170,000 – $282,000$45,000
Aloette$87,400 – $130,500$41,500 – $60,500
Miracle Eyebrows$25,000 – $294,500$25,000
Dessange$593,450$55,000
Skoah$440,292 – $606,763$103,500 – $116,500
THE TEN SPOT$377,500 – $530,000$75,250 – $78,250
Lay Bare Waxing Salon$122,600 – $421,000$15,000 – $35,000
The Lash Lounge$384,797 – $719,490$68,000 – $135,000
Skin Type Solutions$8,000 – $25,500$7,500
Sugaring NYC$138,750 – $293,200$53,050 – $56,650
Radiant Waxing$374,029 – $534,854$100,024 – $110,524
Spavia$495,800 – $697,800$65,800 – $150,000
iTan Franchising$326,000 – $650,000$24,150 – $46,700
L.A. BIKINI$291,150 – $402,000$49,500
Beverly Hills Rejuvenation Center$698,600 – $1,222,500$50,000
Live Hydration Spa$179,575 – $337,783$88,000
Oasis Face Bar$38,000 – $204,345$38,000
Lash and Company$229,000 – $557,500$45,000
AIR | CLEAN YOUR DIRTY FACE$131,797 – $330,847$63,750 – $174,500
Idolize Brows and Beauty$380,704 – $460,303$47,500 – $49,500
Waxxpot$292,900 – $512,000$51,000 – $57,000
Facial Mania Med Spa$250,300 – $688,500$39,000
Organic Bronze Bar$167,900 – $286,900$32,000
Sirius Day Spa$475,750 – $693,875From $39,000
Flirty Girl Lash Studio$249,500 – $497,500$63,900 – $115,000
Faces365 Spa$231,012$40,000
Face to Face Spa$237,800 – $444,950$39,000
Hand and Stone Massage and Facial Spa$603,195 – $759,755$51,000 – $68,000
DaVi Nails$61,150 – $141,000$56,500 – $120,000
Buff City Soap$395,427 – $1,278,424$80,800 – $188,500
Sun Tan City$664,290 – $1,084,750$30,000
Drybar$550,504 – $869,724$126,124 – $134,124
Massage Heights$472,199 – $551,771$123,540 – $127,621
V's Barbershop$265,000 – $600,900$55,500 – $66,200
Knockouts Haircuts for Men$180,000 – $245,590$94,000 – $101,000
iTAN Sun Spray Spa$326,000 – $650,000$24,150 – $46,700
SPA 810$362,205 – $726,650$69,500 – $99,500
dermani MEDSPA$435,654 – $860,625$80,000 – $82,500
Lashbar$138,200 – $277,300$55,000
C3 Wellness Spa$652,928 – $858,616$45,000
Grace Threading$145,800 – $398,200$48,500 – $98,000
Infinity MedSpa$290,200 – $554,500$45,000
Knockout Beauty Retail$191,200 – $429,300$125,000 – $215,000
The Great American Barbershop$154,600 – $282,000$35,000
The Lash Loft$312,395 – $560,895From $52,500
Valet Tan$42,400 – $58,700$15,000
VIO MED SPA (AREA REPRESENTATIVE)$668,600 – $1,791,650n/d
L.A. BIKINI (Area Representative)$347,750 – $925,000n/d
ANGEL TIPS NAIL SPA$288,650 – $550,100$70,000
In-Symmetry Spa$128,500 – $285,710$34,500
PAUSE THE SPA$979,000 – $1,618,000$60,000 – $175,000
Total Woman Gym + Spa$860,500 – $1,483,500$30,000
Regal Nails Salon & Spa$172,722 – $721,866n/d
Kalologie 360 Spa$193,485 – $499,555n/d
Heyday$966,010 – $1,230,590n/d
Natura Waxing Lounge & Spa$77,900 – $286,100n/d
Glosshouz$885,500 – $1,397,000n/d
MudbuM Facial Bar$88,000 – $161,000n/d
Massage Refresh & Spa$319,475 – $480,655n/d
Balensi Spa$182,900 – $432,750$42,600 – $44,450
Omnia Spa$139,700 – $800,600$35,000 – $48,000
SKIN EXPERTS by Brentwood Spa$585,600 – $865,100$74,500 – $105,000
BodiBronze Sunless Spa$54,200 – $145,100n/d
U2 new U Browtique & Spa$198,847 – $269,697n/d
Dermatone Span/dn/d
Azana Salon & Span/dn/d
M.C. Span/dn/d
Natural Rejuvenation MedSpan/dn/d
ON THE GO SPA/ON THE GO ZENn/dn/d
The bodhi spa Heat up, cool down, relax, repeatn/dn/d
Source: FDD-derived filings · Matched by industry + trade keywords in the brand's name or filing description

Each brand page has the footed cost ledger: fee, Item-7 range, royalty, and unit history — with "not disclosed" printed where a figure is missing.

Compare brands in this trade: Deka Lash vs Tan Republic — the two fullest data records here; swap in any brand from the table above on the compare page.

Red flags to check before any spa discovery call

  1. Item 7's low number is not your number. Sales teams quote the bottom of the range; outfit your budget to the high end plus working capital.
  2. No Item 19 earnings claim? Ask why. If earnings promises appear in conversation but not in the FDD, that gap is the answer.
  3. Item 20 exits. Compare closures and terminations to openings over the last three years — our brand pages compute this for you.
  4. "Semi-absentee" pitches. Spa operations still need a manager; if it's not you, that salary belongs in your math.
  5. Litigation history (Item 3) and franchisee-association disputes — search both before the discovery day, not after.
  6. Validate past the reference list. Call operators the franchisor did NOT hand you, including former franchisees.

Spa franchise: quick answers

How much does a spa franchise cost?
The median minimum investment across the 79 spa franchise brands with disclosed figures is $288,650; disclosed totals run $8,000 – $2,592,081. Costs vary widely by format and real estate — anchor on a specific brand's FDD Item 7, not the trade average.
What franchise fee do spa franchises charge?
Disclosed initial franchise fees among the spa brands we track run $5,000 – $215,000 (median $50,500). The fee is one line of the total investment — build-out, equipment, and working capital usually dwarf it.
How many spa franchise brands are there?
Our dataset matches 85 franchise brands to the spa trade, 79 of which disclose investment figures. Matching is by industry plus trade keywords in the brand's name or FDD-derived description, so adjacent concepts can appear — we'd rather show the match rule than hide it.

More health & fitness research

Keep researching

Still researching?

Every spa brand above links to its full cost ledger — fee, royalty, and how its units have held up.

Compare franchises by investment level